Forgot your password?
typodupeerror
Android Cellphones Google Operating Systems

Android 4.1 Jelly Bean Review 255

Posted by Soulskill
from the tastes-good-except-for-the-white-ones dept.
New submitter codysleiman points out a review of Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) at The Verge. They say the look and feel of Google's mobile operating system has improved in a few different ways. Aesthetically, it isn't trying quite so hard as it did in Gingerbread and Ice Cream Sandwich, making the UI less of a distraction. While performance benchmarks aren't much different, Jelly Bean forces 60fps throughout and lets the GPU, CPU and display run independently, so it at least feels smoother and more responsive. Another big area of improvement is notifications: "You can tap a share button on photos, calendar appointments give you a snooze or email attendees option, missed calls provide direct call-back buttons. ... Google has introduced APIs for actions on notifications and I hope that app developers take advantage of them, because it would be nice to have more actions on a variety of different apps." The new on-screen keyboard also got some much-needed updates, and Google Now looks promising.
This discussion has been archived. No new comments can be posted.

Android 4.1 Jelly Bean Review

Comments Filter:
  • by oakgrove (845019) on Wednesday July 04, 2012 @06:40PM (#40545317)
    It gives trolls a convenient talking point too ;-)
  • by fredprado (2569351) on Wednesday July 04, 2012 @07:11PM (#40545549)
    There is no problem at all. If you don't care about OS updates (and many many people don't) you buy a cheaper product from a company that does not give you one. If you think it is important you buy the top models from Google or Samsung and pay the price for it. Unlike Apple products in this case you have the choice of not to paying the premium price for future upgrades if you think you don't need them.
  • by Belial6 (794905) on Wednesday July 04, 2012 @07:33PM (#40545711)
    I have a hard time taking your comment seriously. Besides the fact that your claim the Galaxy Tab can't swipe between pages with without 'stutter' being dubious, even if it did stutter, claiming that this makes the tablet unusable is ridiculous. It comes across like the wannabe video aficionado that declares any TV picture that isn't delivered over $250 Monster HDMI cables to be 'unwatchable'.
  • by CosaNostra Pizza Inc (1299163) on Wednesday July 04, 2012 @07:44PM (#40545799)

    Compare that to iOS' distribution, where a *much* larger percentage are running the most recent version, making it a lot easier for developers. the trade off, of course, is that Apple tightly controls the ecosystem.

    "Easier for Developers"? LOL. I have developed apps for Android and I know what's required to develop apps for IOS. First of all, Android apps can be developed on Windows (all versions), linux, and OSX platforms. Apps can even be developed on Android itself. Eclipse + ADT plugin makes it very easy. IOS apps, on the other hand, can only be developed using Xcode running on OSX. Also, its pretty easy to test your Android app while in development using the emulator but most devs prefer to side-load their app onto the device because its faster and just better than using an emulator. Let's try side-loading an IOS app....oh wait, no USB port. Of course then there's the whole tightly controlled ecosystem you mentioned with Apple...Despite that, vulnerabilities still surface but I bet there are others that Apple stays tight-lipped about and maybe fixes quietly. When Android has a vulnerability, the whole world finds out through the open system of development, arguably making Android appear less secure.

  • by kvvbassboy (2010962) on Wednesday July 04, 2012 @07:55PM (#40545887)

    That's not the point though. I have a samsung galaxy s2, and I am willing to bet a dollar that I will never get upgraded jellybean, unless I flash the rom.

  • by jo_ham (604554) <joham999 @ g m a i l.com> on Wednesday July 04, 2012 @07:58PM (#40545923)

    Wait, you're claiming it's FUD because your one year old phone is better than an iPhone 4 (I'll pick the iPhone 4 since that was the current model a year ago), and specifically claim that the entire problem of low adoption of the latest OS release on Android, and the issue of manufacturers and carriers deliberately blocking and/or delaying updates to phones that can support them in an effort to drive sales of new phones, both of which cause big headaches for developers is "meaningless FUD" because Android users can voice search?

    I think you need to lay off the Apple hate and stop framing everything as a competition with Apple. Fuck what Apple are doing, look at how Android is doing. Who cares if you can voice search on Android. Good for you! How does that have any bearing on the problems posed by the fact that a very small number of users are on the latest version of the OS and those who might want to join them either don't know about it or are blocked from getting there?

    Constructive criticism of the platform and its perceived issues are not attempts to "troll" or "spread meaningless FUD".

    An Android user might be blocked from getting ICS (and now JB) despite his handset being able to support it is hardly going to be placated by you spouting "well at least you can voice search! it's so much better than iPhone! lolz!". I imagine he already thinks that, since *he bought an Android phone in the first place*.

    On the "you're either an early adopter or too old to care about" front on iOS, the facts simply do not bear that out. iOS6 is launching soon (likely with whatever the new iPhone will be called), but it's in developer beta now. It will support the 3GS (albeit with some features missing, like Siri) - that's hardly a culture of "early adopter or too old to care". The 3GS was released in June 2009, and they'll be actively supporting it with the latest OS. By the time iOS6 hits consumer handsets that's over 3 years, and the active support of the previous 4 model generations (3GS, 4, 4S and the new one). That's certainly doing "better" than some Android handsets that have been abandoned and can't upgrade (and for balance, doing "worse" than some Android handsets that will be supported for longer).

  • by eladts (1712916) on Thursday July 05, 2012 @12:34AM (#40547939)
    Did you buy your car at a gas station? Then why buy your phone from a wireless carrier? You will get updates late, if at all. Tethering will be restricted. The phone will come loaded with crapware. Why bother?

As far as we know, our computer has never had an undetected error. -- Weisert

Working...